Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Holiness

There is no life apart from Jesus Christ.  There is no liberty apart from Jesus Christ.  There is no life worth living which does not orient itself around the quest for excellence.  The only true excellence is found in the person of Jesus Christ.  My only hope for personal holiness is found in Him.  What a blessing it is that Jesus loved and acted so I could participate in His holiness.  The Christian has been given life, liberty, and the honor of a life devoted to the pursuit of holiness.  It is a supreme joy to be a Christian.

I think usually when we read the word “holy” we associate this trait with God.  That is a correct association, for the Bible clearly declares God’s holiness.

… it is written, “Be holy, for I am holy.” (1 Peter 1:16 NKJV)

…And they do not rest day or night, saying: “Holy, holy, holy, Lord God Almighty, Who was and is and is to come!”  (Revelation 4:8 NKJV)

But God’s people are also declared to be holy.

… For the temple of God is holy, which temple you are. (1 Corinthians 3:17 NKJV)

that He might present her to Himself a glorious church, … that she should be holy and without blemish. (Ephesians 5:27 NKJV)

Therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved … (Colossians 3:12 NKJV)

Therefore, holy brethren, partakers of the heavenly calling … (Hebrews 3:1 NKJV)

Holiness is not only something that we are; it is also something that we do.  The Christian life could be summed up in four words: the pursuit of holiness.

Therefore, having these promises, beloved, let us cleanse ourselves from all filthiness of the flesh and spirit, perfecting holiness in the fear of God. (2 Corinthians 7:1 NKJV)

For they indeed for a few days chastened us as seemed best to them, but He for our profit, that we may be partakers of His holiness. (Hebrews 12:10 NKJV)

Pursue peace with all people, and holiness, without which no one will see the Lord: (Hebrews 12:14 NKJV)

As a Christian, each day I have the privilege and responsibility of perfecting holiness and pursuing holiness that I may partake of God’s holiness.  This pursuit must affect everything I do, say, and think.  It must affect my attention and behavior at worship services.  It must affect my behavior in the check-out line in Wal-Mart, in the stands at ballgames, and behind the wheel in my automobile.  It must affect how I treat my spouse and my children.  It must affect my conversation at work and with my hunting buddies.  The pursuit of holiness must control everything I do in my life.

Leave a Reply

