I am unworthy, but Jesus loves me

I will make these seven simple words my daily confession.  Only one sin is heinous in God’s sight.  Yet I have committed many.  Only one sin makes me unworthy for fellowship with Him that is perfect.  Yet forgiveness, healing, and hope are found in Jesus Christ.

Let me suggest that we remind ourselves of these two simple facts repeatedly during the day.  I am unworthy.  Jesus loves me.

The first (I am unworthy) teaches me humility.  My sin, with its resulting unworthiness, must be faced and acknowledged.  I am prepared to approach God only when I am humble.  Humility empowers me for service, for it frees me to think of others and not myself.  I prepare to love God and my neighbor by learning humility.  The work of love is only possible with a humble heart.

The second (Jesus loves me) bathes me in hope.  Why does God love me when I transgress His good will?  Candidly, I don’t know.  But, His word makes it abundantly clear that He does love me and all sinners.  Jesus is indeed the Friend of sinners, and He wants to be my Friend.  Giving Him my life by gospel obedience seals that friendship with its resulting forgiveness…and hope.

It is the contrast in the statement that makes it so powerful.  It is one thing to love a good person, but Jesus loves me when I’ve been bad.  That is truly amazing.  “Amazing Grace” is more than a hymn.  It is the reality of a hope-blessed life.  I am unworthy, but Jesus loves me!

Say the statement to yourself often as your day passes.  Meditate on the scriptural truth underlying it.  A medley of texts appears at the end of this article.    Emphasize different words as you say the statement over and over.  Think humility of attitude, hope of heaven, and motivation for right living and Christ-like helping of others.  I am unworthy, but Jesus loves me!

Here are a few of many Bible passages that teach the truth of the love of Christ in spite of my unworthiness of His love.  The emphasis in the texts is mine.

Psalms 103:10-12 NKJV 10 He has not dealt with us according to our sins, Nor punished us according to our iniquities. 11 For as the heavens are high above the earth, So great is His mercy toward those who fear Him; 12 As far as the east is from the west, So far has He removed our transgressions from us.

Matthew 11:19 NKJV 19 The Son of Man came eating and drinking, and they say, ‘Look, a glutton and a winebibber, a friend of tax collectors and sinners!’ But wisdom is justified by her children.

Luke 19:10 NKJV 10 for the Son of Man has come to seek and to save that which was lost.

Romans 5:6-11 NKJV 6 For when we were still without strength, in due time Christ died for the ungodly. 7 For scarcely for a righteous man will one die; yet perhaps for a good man someone would even dare to die. 8 But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. 9 Much more then, having now been justified by His blood, we shall be saved from wrath through Him. 10 For if when we were enemies we were reconciled to God through the death of His Son, much more, having been reconciled, we shall be saved by His life. 11 And not only that, but we also rejoice in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received the reconciliation.

1 Timothy 1:15-16 NKJV 15 This is a faithful saying and worthy of all acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am chief. 16 However, for this reason I obtained mercy, that in me first Jesus Christ might show all longsuffering, as a pattern to those who are going to believe on Him for everlasting life.

One Response to “I am unworthy, but Jesus loves me”

  1. mattdabbs Says:

    Thanks for the comment/link

Leave a Reply

