God Loves Me

John 3:16 NKJV 16 For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.

Romans 5:8 NKJV 8 But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

1 John 4:10 NKJV 10 In this is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins.

God loves me in spite of myself.  He will always love me.  I don’t know anything I can do to make Him stop loving me.  My sin can separate me from Him, and that separation can become eternal if I live a life of sin of which I refuse to repent.  But He loves me, even when I’m bad, and wants me to come to Him and receive the forgiveness and acceptance He offers.  I find it immensely comforting to know that God always loves me.

When I disappoint myself by living less than a perfect life, when I get so upset with myself for not doing better than I do, when I fail so miserably that I wonder why I even try – God loves me!

When others say unkind things to me or about me,  when others do not give me the respect and recognition that I honestly feel they should, when my perception of others’ opinion of me is so poor that I become depressed and discouraged – God loves me!

When the trials of life become so heavy that I feel their weight will literally crush my soul, when I worry about my own health or the health of a dear loved one, when I have placed a part of my own life in the receiving cemetery earth – God loves me!

I can depend on His love for it is worth far more than the greatest financial empire ever amassed.  I can rejoice in His love for it is more glorious than the most sought after victory in this life.  I can proceed with quiet, confident, assurance because I know that:

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil; for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff, they comfort me. (Psalms 23:4 RSV)

It is my prayer that these humble thoughts have encouraged us all.

Leave a Reply

