Thinking About Gratitude

I have nothing that I did not receive.  I did not earn the Christian family that raised me.  I did not earn the privilege of receiving an education.  I did not earn having a more than adequate house in which to live or having more than enough food and clothing.  I surely did not earn the fine wife I have lived with for 37 years or the three good children she bore me.  Above all, I did not earn The Cross.

For who makes you differ from another? And what do you have that you did not receive? Now if you did indeed receive it, why do you boast as if you had not received it? (1 Corinthians 4:7 NKJV)

I must be grateful for all these good things, for what would my life be without them?  How rude I would be if I were not thankful.  I must constantly focus on the Source of the incomprehensible goodness that my Father continually rains upon me.

Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow of turning. (James 1:17 NKJV)

Every morning I will praise You, o merciful God.  Every noon I will rejoice in thankfulness for Your tender mercies.  Every evening I will thank You for the gift of my salvation and the protection of Your love.  Every night I will pray for wisdom and strength to be more and more like Your holy Son that my life may show Christ to my neighbors and gratefulness to You.

Bless the LORD, O my soul, And forget not all His benefits: Who forgives all your iniquities, Who heals all your diseases, Who redeems your life from destruction, Who crowns you with lovingkindness and tender mercies, Who satisfies your mouth with good things, So that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s. (Psalms 103:2-5 NKJV)

Every one of my “possessions” is evidence of the goodness of the Lord.  If I were to count His blessings, I could never stop.  I would run out of numbers and my life would surely end before the full extent of His kindness was duly noted.  I cannot look in any direction that I do not see His love.  Even that which appears at first indifferent, or even unfortunate, will show His love if I look at it properly, recognizing His sovereignty, my insignificance, and yet His interest in me.

Why does the All-Mighty desire a loving relationship with me?  Who can fathom it?   This fact, revealed clearly in the Bible, is beyond my ability to comprehend.  Why?  Yet, He does.

I will meditate on the goodness of my God.  I will thank Him with my prayers.  I will do so without ceasing.  I will thank Him through the words of kindness I offer to my neighbor.  I will thank Him through acts of mercy to those who seem undeserving.  I will thank Him with the choice to form Christ in my life.  I will never stop thanking the Good Lord. I will remember to:

pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. (1 Thessalonians 5:17-18 NKJV)

One Response to “Thinking About Gratitude”

  1. Will Haney Says:

    Hey, John, I Chronicles 29 comes to mind where it talks about what we have here on Earth is really God’s anyways. Every blessing whether it be physical or abstract is God’s from the beginning, which is why we give with a willing heart because we are only giving back what does not belong to us anyways.

Leave a Reply

