Resolutions 2011

I think living a Christ-like life starts with humility.  You have to admit that you are a sinner, and thus in need of help.  You have to look in the mirror with humility to do that.  Then you have to humble yourself to actually seek the help that is constantly and readily available in Jesus.

And whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and he who humbles himself will be exalted. (Matthew 23:12 NKJV)

Jesus talks about love, love God and love your neighbor, but I think His statement here assumes that a person wants to do the right thing, that is, wants to improve themselves.  That attitude begins with humility.  Love begins with humility.

As Jesus is an icon of the Father, I am to be an icon of Jesus.  When people see me, they are supposed to see Jesus – in me, in my life.  They are supposed to see Jesus in what my life reveals about my attitudes and values.  They are supposed to see Jesus in my interactions with them.

He is the image [icon] of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation. (Colossians 1:15 NKJV)

To them God willed to make known what are the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles: which is Christ in you, the hope of glory. (Colossians 1:27 NKJV)

How can I do a better job in 2011 showing everyone I interact with Christ in my life?  Here are some resolutions.

  • The ability to show restraint – I will show more restraint when I feel wronged
  • The ability to show aggression – I will aggressively engage the Christian life
  • The ability to examine myself – I will truthfully evaluate my own heart
  • The ability to radiate love – I will love those that are dear to me
  • The ability to look like Jesus – I will be an icon of Christ

 

Leave a Reply

