Christ the Pattern

Image  I will never influence anyone for Christ if I do not have a personal relationship with Him.  I will never become what God created me to become if I do not have a deep personal relationship with Him.  I could keep going with thoughts like these.  I will never be anything apart from knowing God and a minute by minute striving to be like Him. 

My striving goes beyond being baptized, though it starts with that.  It goes beyond attending church services, though it includes that.  It seems often that we equate faithfulness with church attendance.  That just scratches the surface.  If I am content with showing up for an assembly three times a week, I will never know God.  I know God, I become like Him, when I become like the pattern He showed us for the perfect man.  That pattern is Christ. 

My constant thought, effort, prayer, energy, emotion, and being must be consumed by the desire to be just like Jesus Christ.  He is the pattern.  If I can fight and submit, believe and act, focus on and embrace, cling to and adore – Jesus Christ, the Son of God, Perfect God and Perfect Man – then I shall be what God made me to be. 

I must kill the world in my life.  I must annihilate it.  This world is not my home.  I am truly just passing through.  I am a pilgrim.  The sooner I learn and accept that, the sooner I will begin to make progress in becoming more and more like Jesus. 

My mission is to be like Jesus.

My little children, for whom I labor in birth again until Christ is formed in you, (Galatians 4:19)

 

2 Responses to “Christ the Pattern”

  1. PJ Says:

    I’m here from Father Stephen’s blog. You have some great posts here. This post is especially insightful and compelling.

  2. John Says:

    Thank you, PJ.

Leave a Reply

