God and Fear

“for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.” (2 Timothy 1:7)

Christianity produces strength, love, self control, and endurance – not fear. If your Christianity doesn’t,  then maybe you’re listening to someone other than Jesus. That someone may be you. At least that’s a struggle I face.

I should be trusting Jesus when what I’m doing is trusting John. It never works. To really trust Jesus,  I have to completely let go of self. Paul talked about crucifying self or putting self to death. I can never take hold of Christ or let Him take hold of me till self is out of the way. I told you it was a struggle.

You just have to let go in total surrender to Jesus. When you finally let go of self and begin uniting with Christ, you will find a peace you never knew existed. Fear will begin to disapate. Hope and strength will begin to grow.

Dear Father, mercifully grant me the strength to quit trusting in me and start trusting in You.

Leave a Reply

