I Agree, Therefore, I Am

That is of course a variation of the famous statement “I think, therefore,  I am,” by some philosopher whose name elludes me. 

Randy Medlin of Montgomery made a statement in a sermon one time that I found deeply perceptive. He said something to the effect that “Many Christians think that because they agree with some Biblical principle,  that means they are doing it.” For example, when Jesus says, “Blessed are the meek . . . Blessed are the merciful,” people think they actually are humble and merciful because they agree with what Jesus said. Then, when something doesn’t go to suit these same people,  they are anything but humble and merciful. They really can be quite rude and mean, but see no conflict between their personal behavior and the teaching of Jesus.

I agree (with the words of Christ), therefore I am (obedient to the words of Christ).

Anyone can see the problem on paper, but few can see it in their life.

I really don’t know what to do about it. If you point it out, people get mad and try to hurt you. If you tell them how good they are, well, that’s worthless. It’s kind of a delimema.  

I guess looking for the inconsistencies in my own life is the best I can do.

One Response to “I Agree, Therefore, I Am”

  1. Randal Says:

    Confrontation seems to be the proper response. If they fail to repent, the woe is theirs.

Leave a Reply

