A Gentle Friend

 

    I wish I had a gentle friend.  My friend would always be kind and forgiving.  I would feel a sense of peacefulness when in the presence of my friend, either in person, or in my thoughts.  I wish I would be a gentle friend.

Gentleness begins with humility, as so many good things do.  It progresses through trust and finds its home in kindness.  Am I kind?  When someone hurts me, do I respond with kindness?  Jesus was kind to those who were hurting Him.  He didn’t order their destruction; He forgave them and offered healing for their hatred.  He is my model.  Do I believe that?

When I am kind and gentle it has a ripple effect.  Others are more likely to respond in a similar fashion to my behavior.  It won’t always work, but it often does.  Before you dismiss kindness as impractical, have you tried it?

If I am serious about following Jesus, I will be a gentle person.  I will allow myself to be vulnerable.  I will do that because I trust Jesus, not myself.  People will laugh, they will say I am naive, they will get someone else to speak to them because he tells them what they want to hear, but, it doesn’t matter . . . Jesus has my back.

There is too much hatred and violence in the world.  The answer is not more violence, though that is not what people want to hear.  The answer is the love of Christ, flowing through my life, to everyone around me.  Gentleness starts with me.  I am to be the gentle friend.

Therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, put on tender mercies, kindness, humility, meekness, longsuffering; bearing with one another, and forgiving one another, if anyone has a complaint against another; even as Christ forgave you, so you also must do. (Colossians 3:12-13 NKJV)

Thanks for reading . . . . . John

Leave a Reply

